List of the week: Movies about high school teachers

The only thing that really excited me about hearing there would be a National Honors Society assembly today was that my classes would be cut down by ten minutes.  In my years here, NHS assemblies have not been the most exciting or moving of assemblies. They tend to consist of a droning keynote speech, a long slide show, and more speeches.

However, I was pleasantly surprised today. The speaker, a middle school teacher who was involved with the establishing of the KIPP Heartwood Academy, really captured my attention. She spoke about the challenges of teaching in underfunded urban schools with bad track records. She described students who had given up on themselves and their teachers and had resigned themselves to self-fulfilling prophecies. Despite the odds against her, the teacher started a school that took similar kids and turned them into students who value education, respect one another, and dream of going to college. I tutored many of them every other Saturday in my junior year and felt almost useless. These kids were so smart and well-behaved, they hardly needed my help.

By not paying teachers their worth, our state is shirking its responsibility to encourage quality teaching in its schools. We pay hundreds of thousands of dollars to engineers, technicians, and web developers to fuel innovation, but a tiny, tiny fraction of that is paid to our teachers. How many of you have had truly life-changing teachers in your life?

On that note, I’m going to feature scenes from well-made movies about teachers who did more than lecture into space:

https://i0.wp.com/www.darwin.ie/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/deadpoets.jpg

Gracias to Natural Selections

Dead Poets Society : On his first day as English teacher at an all boys boarding school, John Keating (Robin Williams) instructs a student to read the preface of his poetry book. He then tells the boy, and all the boys in the class, to rip the page straight out of their books and throw it on the floor. He deems it rubbish. He tells the students that they can call him “Oh Captain! My Captain! (the title of a Walt Whitman poem) if they feel daring. He tells them to stand on their desks so they remember to always look at things with a new perspective. They boys stare at him incredulously. Keating then leads them outside and instructs them on the doctrine of “carpe diem.” Seizing the day.

Note: Robin Williams said that he chose to play John Keating because he was the kind of teacher he wished he had.

https://i0.wp.com/img5.allocine.fr/acmedia/medias/nmedia/18/63/77/81/18740733.jpg

Gracias to ScreenRush

Freedom Writers : New teacher Erin Gruwell has a tough job. She is a white teacher at a school full of minorities. The cap? They all hate her. One day, she places a long piece of red tape down the center of the room and tells her students to stand on opposite sides of the room. She successively asks students to walk up to the line if a series of categories apply to them. Do they know where to buy drugs; have they ever been shot at; do they know anyone in a gang; do they know anyone who has died from gang violence. The numbers of students who approach the line is astounding. She brings her at-risk students face to face – the asians who hate the mexicans who hate the blacks.

Note: This movie is based on the book called “The Freedom Writers Diary” by Erin Gruwell and the kids of Wilson High. True story.

https://i0.wp.com/img2.timeinc.net/ew/dynamic/imgs/060907/13135__stand_and_deliver_l.jpg

Gracias to EW

Stand and Deliver is also really good, though I haven’t seen it in a while. Also a true story. Favorite line: “Hey Kimo, you proud of me? I’m the first one here! What’s Cal-cool-us?”

17 Comments

  1. I just read a Newsweek article about this French movie from this year called The Class that’s supposed to be really good. I think the article said that most of the movie was improvisation, and its supposedly similar to Freedom Writers (overcoming the difficulties of teaching at-risk kids). I haven’t seen it yet, but from the article it sounded like a good movie…

    • Yeah! I’ve heard of it. It got really good reviews. Hopefully it comes out on DVD soon. I have a soft spot for these ‘teacher reforming kids who don’t wanna learn’ movies.

  2. I have Dead Poet’s Society! …somewhere hidden in our DVD collection. I want to watch it now 🙂

    And I’ve wanted to see Freedom Writers back since the trailers. Is it worth buying/renting?

    • Definitely worth watching – maybe not buying. There’s a copy in the journalism room

  3. Amen. And I love that you deconstruct life by putting life in the context of movies (it’s so counterintuitive, but so effective). I think we take for granted the fact that Harker has possibly the strongest team of faculty members of any school in the area. Because of this, we expect nothing less than the best and forget to appreciate every moment for what it’s really worth.

    Your post reminded me immediately of Mona Lisa Smile. Not a favorite, but it has some good teacher movie moments.

    P.S. I wasn’t expecting anything grand from the assembly either…initially. “I’m hurting!!!” I think the message resonated more only after we heard what the speaker had to say. Clearly, “we’re hurting.” And if the speaker wasn’t enough to stress that, your selection of movies (fantastic as usual), certainly will.

  4. richa can i come over and borrow some movies? thanks <33

    • yes! you haven’t come over in a long time.

  5. You’re definitely right about NHS assemblies- this one was really inspirational to me and it truly made me conscious of how real the problems are that we hear about. I mean it’s so hard to imagine that juxtaposed to the Harker school (in the same city!) there are people who are so underprivileged in their education.
    I loved freedom writers- it was the first teacher movie I watched that actually made me realize what an impact one person can do. Like regardless of whether you want to be a teacher or doctor or lawyer, being able to impact even ONE person’s life so dramatically can make the job worthwhile.

  6. Love love love Dead’s Poet’s Society–the scene where the father finds the body and the fight scenes after were BRILLIANT.
    ALSO love Freedom Writer’s of course especially since it’s based on a true story.
    But I don’t really think there are that many real life teachers quite like Robin Williams.

  7. I really like how you relate the every day things that happen to you with movies that you have watched. The teacher inspired me a lot, and she definitely reminded me about the teacher in Freedom Writers and the coach in Coach Carter.

  8. i really want to watch Dead Poet’s society now.
    i liked your little bit on the teachers thing.

  9. If only we were all as deep as Robin Williams’ kids. I mean, I don’t see any dudes at harker rereating to caves and reading poetry to each other. Maybe that’s coz I’m not a dude.

  10. I LOVED Stand and Deliver. 😀 GAH

  11. Did you know we showed Nanaji and Naniji Freedom Writers? Who knew that they’d like a movie about teaching?
    Sports movies are lacking, though! Remember the Titans, Coach Carter, very inspiring teachers of student athletes. I still want to see The Great Debaters to see how the coach is in that.

    • My list was about classroom high school teachers. I’ll be sure to do another post on redundant inspirational sports movies next week 😛

      • Redundant? In Coach Carter, they lose at the end! In Dead Poets Society, does some kid leave the class not knowing what a metaphor is? And In Remember the Titans, the star player gets injured and has his football career end. Plenty of adversity.

  12. Stand and Deliver’s gotta be the most amazing story about the kind of teacher that would teach at the school in the assembly… It’s overall pretty intense…

    Dead Poet’s Society is also amazing, but it gets harder and harder to take Robin Williams seriously after some of his more recent stuff =/


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment