Get the most bang for your buck

You know those days when you’re completely bored and decide to mosey into a theater and see a random movie? Maybe you’ve seen the trailer a few months earlier. Maybe you read a one-sentence description of the movie in the paper. Maybe just you went up to the cashier and mentally stabbed at a movie and purchased a ticket. In general, you have no idea if the movie was publicly or critically regarded as good, bad, or “aite.”

I don’t know that feeling. See, I can’t see a movie in theaters without hitting up at least two of my go-to sites. Among those are Roger Ebert’s web site, the Internet Movie Database, or rottentomatoes.com. If a movie gets bad reviews, I wont see it at all. If it gets lukewarm or mixed bag reviews, DVD! It’s that simple.

https://i0.wp.com/www.csc-scc.gc.ca/hist/1920/images/cult2.jpgGracias to Correctional Service Canada

In our economy, it’s important to weigh in many factors when spending an extortionate $10 on a movie, not including another ten on popcorn and other concession stand confections. I don’t want to sit down to see a movie that induces my gag reflex. I don’t want to sit and watch a movie that bores me for two and a half hours. And I don’t want to see a movie that I will walk out of a half hour later. It’s not the best use of my time or money.

I recommend talking to people who have seen the film in question, or check out the above web sites to get a sense of the quality of the film. I don’t know anyone who would willingly want to see a bad movie. You might save a chunk of change and a headache.

https://i0.wp.com/www.baltimoremagazine.net/maxspace/wp-content/uploads/2008/11/twilight-backlot-21.jpgUtterly delightful stuff, spider-monkey!

There is a slight exception, however. If the movie is so bad its good and gone back to bad again, go ahead and watch it. True camp is hard to come by these days. I spent the best $10 watching Twilight last November, and I don’t think I’ve ever laughed that hard at a movie in recent memory.

—-

New Gossip Girl episode tonight at 8 pm on the CW. I can’t help but tune in, even though this show continues to push the limits of absolute absurdity. Thanks, classical conditioning! I can’t imagine who Nate is going to find to bone next. He’s already had sex with every female on the show, with the exception of Blair and Serena’s moms. Good self-control, Nate.

https://i0.wp.com/www.aceshowbiz.com/images/news/00022291.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/blogs.phillyburbs.com/news/spotted/files/2009/03/newggpic10.jpg
Gracias to the CW
. I wonder what whiny face Jessica Szohr is going to pull out of her repertoire tonight!

7 Comments

  1. hey reech,
    i think you should do a post on the FABULOUS english “video” we watched today regarding Oulipo (note: pronounced YOO-lee-poh with a strong British accent). I thought it was quite fabulously done — flashing images of the sunset and all, no?

    • And the googly-eyed man!

      • Don’t forget the lovely, giant tree.

  2. LOL
    “good self control nate” hahahaha
    i havent watched a single episode of gossip girl, and your description of it is basically why i never will.

  3. The great part about spider monkeys is, they actually do throw their shit.

  4. Nate has plowed Blair! [remember the apologize episode]. God i’m lame for knowing

  5. Twilight was certainly the funniest movie made in a long time, especially because I was surrounded by people who actually took it seriously! Oh MAN… the special effects, the music, it was just so insanely over the top I almost passed out laughing. If you take it seriously, though, it’s possibly the most frightening movie ever made because there are people who actually aspire to something like that….


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment